Tea and sympathy

My son is flinging Melissa & Doug wooden magnet letters off the refridgerator door and onto the floor, in one efficient stroke per letter, an emotional and wordless protest of the cough that just took over and didn’t let up until he cried.

I am not going to stop him. I felt the same way this morning when the same cough, or at least the cough from the same bug he’s got, hit me at 7 am, so instead of staying snugly asleep with baby and husband, I was up making lemon tea with honey, and used the very last, squeezing-pleading, drops of honey… farewell elixer of relief. One more reason I have to go out and run errands instead of napping this morning.

Leave a Reply

