Where does time go?

My husband commented to me yesterday, “It’s been a whole month since you posted anything on Woah Baby.”
Yikes! So it has.

My monkey is 7 months old!

Today I was taking a peek a blog that is new to me, and noticed the writer-mama posted about a similar gap in her writing about time her munchkin was 6 or so months old. What happens? Well, my guess is it’s movement. Del isn’t crawling yet but he’s clearly working out the how-to in his little brain – practicing the movement from sitting up to hands-and-knees. He bounces in hands-and-knees, then flops to his tummy and roll-scoots around. He also lays on his back and inch-worms – my term for his contortionist backward scoot by way of arching his back and pushing away, head first and blind! His favorite targets are any kind of cord or cable, and any kind of paper. Sheesh.

Another little change is his attention span and his desire for company. In earlier months, he would play for quite a while with a single toy or on the play mat. Now he loses interest in any one thing much faster, unless he has company. So we play together, building cloth block houses or filling and emptying a little box with various toy items. We try out different teethers or take Sophie on adventures. We lie on our tummies and read board books (then one of us tastes board books… not saying who.) Some mornings he just wants company on the floor, so he plays while I knit or fold clothes or take pictures of him.

This is the coolest box, Mom.

He’s also eating more food now – so making food and giving him his little meals is also a new job. I usually feed him in the mornings as I clean the kitchen and make my own breakfast, or in the evening as I start cooking dinner. Carrots (yes, they’re now considered edible!), pears, apples, sometimes oatmeal mixed into fruit, sweet potato, avocado, and the favorite: bananas. My Beaba steamer/blender was a gift from my office friends, and though they chuckled to themselves about me making my own babyfood, I am actually using it and so far have bought no babyfood for Del except some neat little rice cakes for our travels. I love that he is learning to eat real food from the start.

Oh yeah – AND a trip to the beach and a circuitous family trip that included my brother’s wedding! My excuses for not writing much!

Del at Rehoboth Beach

Leave a Reply

