Farewell to Worms

Some of my readers who know me on Facebook too will remember just a couple of months ago when the charming Willie the Wiggleworm was born off the knitting needles and came to live with Del.

Willie the Wiggleworm

Willie was instantly loved, for his squishy softness, for the chewability of his lopsided antennae, and for his floppy arms. He was a tasty friend.

Del and Willie: love at first sight.

Last Friday, Willie joined Del and I for a trip into the city. It was a snuggly metro ride for the two friends… little did we know that this was Willie’s way of saying…

goodbye.

Somewhere between 17th and 22st Streets, on L or maybe K, Willie slipped free from the stroller and made a break for it. As soon as I noticed Willie was gone, I retraced our steps. For naught. Willie had broken out of the proverbial cocoon and flown free. I guess he didn’t like the suburbs either.

Farewell, Willie. We hope you’re being a good worm, keeping some homeless person or Occupier company. May your lopsided antennae guide you and your stuffing never go flat.

Love, Del and Mama

4 responses to “Farewell to Worms

  • Nona

    Ahhhhh! poor little Willie and poor Del ~ you must get those needles going again and replace Willie with maybe a Wilma!

    • DragonKat

      Yeah, same day he was lost, my yarn shop had Merino 5 yarn in sale. I got some to knit a new wiggle worm. Still, losing a hand knit toy bites.

  • April

    Awww, so sad! I still remember the day I lost a favored item from my infancy–I really do!

    • DragonKat

      Aw! What did you lose?

      I don’t know if Del can tell at all… but I am sad. Fortunately Willie was the fastest knit – just a weekend to get his whole body done. There will be another worm. 🙂

Leave a Reply

