To my friend, awaiting the birth of her daughter

I wanted to let you know you’ve been on my mind the last few days. I don’t know how to express the feeling other than to say that if I were the type to do so, I’d be offering you a blessing. You will learn so much about yourself in the days ahead – wonderful things. If I have any advice or wisdom to offer, it is this: I know you are a person who has experienced what it is to get your mind and body and spirit in harmony to help yourself accomplish difficult things. What makes you able to do that, will make you able to give birth to your daughter. Welcome it like you welcome the challenge of an unsettling yoga posture. And not just the birth itself, but everything – welcome the waiting, the awkwardness of the end of pregnancy, the pushing, the nursing, the sleeplessness, the almost unbearable joy and the almost unbearable differentness of it all. When you emerge in a few months from the fog of pregnancy and new parenthood, you’ll have a new limberness and strength you never thought was possible.

I am happy beyond words for you and grateful to know you, and to be able to know you as you become a mom.

Break a leg.

Leave a Reply

