Good eats: two recipes you should try

image from thelittlekitchen.net

I just had to share these two amazing recipes I tried this week!

Before I was pregnant I really enjoyed cooking and all things “sustainable”. Toward the end of pregnancy, though, and in these first few weeks postpartum, I’ve not been wildly inclined to cook. In fact, some nights that first month after Del was home, I could barely get a meal off the stove without undercooking it or burning it, and I was happier eating pizza from a cardboard box than preparing a meal in my kitchen.

I must be getting some of my “self” back, because this past week I finally got the urge to cook the short ribs in my freezer. I’ve never cooked short ribs before so I scoured some recipes and settled on the one I’m going to share with you. And it was amazing!

The other recipe I made this week was my favorite Shepherd’s Pie recipe. And now I get to the real reason I’m posting about this. The short ribs are cooked in the slow cooker in a red wine and vegetable broth that cooks down into a rich flavorful sauce. I had about 2 cups of the sauce left over after we ate the short ribs, and I used the leftover sauce in place of beef broth in the Shepherd’s Pie. The result was insanely good.

So here are the two recipes:

Red Wine Braised Short Ribs

Shepherd’s Pie

I made one change to the short ribs recipe – we don’t have a microwave so instead of microwaving the bones, I just roasted them in the oven for about an hour, while I did all the other prep work before putting the ingredients in the slow cooker in the fridge overnight. Same result – possibly even better.

And the Shepherd’s Pie, I almost never do the 2-hour slow bake of the meat mixture. I usually cook the meat on the stovetop in a cast iron skillet while the oven preheats, and chop the veggies while the meat browns. I add all the veggies then the remaining ingredients, and in this case, added the short ribs sauce, to the meat in the cast iron skillet, then put the skillet into a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes or so.

Finally, a shout out to South Mountain Creamery, the fabulous local dairy where I order our milk and a lot of our meat. The short ribs and lamb both came from them. Love you guys!

 

Leave a Reply

