Reflection: 5 Things

Today I’m sticking with the Reverb11 prompts because the alternative is to chronicle last night’s labor false alarm. I’m just not in the mood to write about it. I’m feeling kind of sorry for myself right now.

Instead:

December 5: 5 Things

Describe five guilty pleasures.

1) Raw cookie dough. It’s true. I occasionally buy this delicious brand of chocolate chip cookie dough called “600  Lb. Gorilla” (how’s that for a fair warning?!) and keep it in the freezer. I pretty much never bake cookies with it. Yet somehow, it seems to disappear…

they never reach this point...

2) Blogging at work. It has been known to happen.

"What am I working on? Just a, uh, draft... of, a, that draft I've been working on..."

3) Filling an online shopping cart then closing the window. I will sometimes assemble grand orders of outfits and new shoes, only to close the window and not order. I’ve noticed  a few places will send you a reminder sometimes that your shopping cart is about to expire. I just think to myself, yes, love, it’s meant to.

Online shopping: all the fun without the committment

4)Knitting –  a lot. The part that makes me feel guilty is that I have unused yarn and partially done projects. I realize this is kind of part of the persona of any one who takes up a serious craft. Even my husband, a totally nerdy computer guy, has bits of computers and parts and cords and such, in addition to the many functioning computers in our house. I do still feel a little guilty every time I purchase yarn for a new project. To be fair, I have finished about 80% of what I’ve started. It’s not a cheap hobby though, if done well. And I’m doing it so well.

People actually post photos of their yarn stashes, like proud mamas.

5) Whole Foods salad bar lunches. This one is a complex guilty pleasure. Reasons it’s “guilty”: it’s a work-day lunch that takes 20+ minutes round trip walking to WF and back from my office, I usually spend at least 45 minutes eating there because I meet my friend Kristi there when I go so I’m gone longer than I ought to be, and at its cheapest, a WF salad bar lunch runs me $15 and I usually spend more. Reasons I do it anyway: 20+ minutes of walking in the middle of a work day is a healthy thing (and actually endorsed BY my work place!), lunch with Kristi is always refreshing/entertaining/supportive/encouraging, and a big salad/soup/fresh fruit/iced tea lunch from Whole Foods is at the top of the list of healthy things I will eat any given week. To all twinges of guilt over my weekly Whole Foods lunch, I simply reply: kale. Kale.

It's for the kale.

5 responses to “Reflection: 5 Things

Leave a Reply

