Reflections

The last month of pregnancy is the silent period. Nothing is happening or changing much… it’s just waiting. I feel like I don’t have much to post because there is not much to say. In lieu of rambling about how huge I feel or how impatient I am growing, I’m going to participate in a community writing and reflection exercise called Reverb11 – it’s been going on for a few years now I guess and I followed my friend Amanda’s Reverb10 posts last December and really enjoyed the thoughtful prompts and her responses to them. I am not making a committment to respond to each day’s prompt, but I would like to let them inspire me, while I am waitingwaitingwaiting…

December 1st: One Word.

Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word.
Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?

My word for 2011 is pregnant. Zach and I mulled over the question of when and if to have a baby through the fall of 2010, and decided that we’d begin “trying” in January of 2011. I would be turning 34 and we hoped to achieve our parenthood before my 35th birthday, and we also acknowledged that there was probably no such thing as ‘ready’ – some things you just do and get “ready” as you go. So beginning with the new year, we were open to having to a child. In April, we found out we were pregnant! Everything else in 2011 has been impacted by or dictated by the expectation of our child. I like that pregnant also means “full, heavy with meaning, expectant” in the abstract sense, because our year has had that quality too.

Having no idea what 2012 will really be like, but knowing it holds a new baby, the new experience of parenting, the prospect of living on a diminished income, many weddings of friends and family, possibly even a move to a larger apartment or home in the area. It will be a year of flux, change, growth, difficulty, joys, highs and lows. I’d like to lay claim on the word Peace. Sounds like a weird choice? This quote (which is on a magnet on our refrigerator) is why:

If you had to choose a word – for this past year, or the one ahead for you – what would it be?

4 responses to “Reflections

  • April

    That’s a great magnet with valuable meaning.

    I’d probably choose the word “troubled” or “anxious.”

  • DragonKat

    Zach found the magnet at a time when it had a very literal meaning for us – we were living in a basement apartment under a total douchebag who threw multiple mid-week parties that typically went from midnight till 3 or 4 am. We’re out of that – thank goodness – but the magnet has meaning richer than that one experience. 🙂

    I’m sorry you’ve had a tough year. Is there a word you would like to have for next year? *hug* We miss you guys – hope paths cross one way or another in the year ahead.

    • April

      Oh, I remember that story very well. How glad I bet you are not to have to endure that test any more….

      It’s been tough this year on a personal level I have yet to divulge or reflect upon deeply, especially to most people. I think I’d like to choose the word “definitive” for next year. I’m not sure where I’m going with that, but then again, doesn’t that explain my reason for choosing that word to begin with?

      I so cannot believe you are thisclose to having your baby. It stuns and excites me to see updates from your blog thinking you may have had RedBean. 😀

      • DragonKat

        Then I hope you find or make lots of definition in the year ahead – in whatever forms you most need it.

        *HUG*

Leave a Reply

