right.this.moment.

One of the blogs I really enjoy reading, Dear Baby, (see link in the sidebar!) has a great post today that I’d encourage you to read in full.

Everly has taught me some really valuable lessons about being a better person and a better parent but there is one thing that stands out above all the rest. The lesson…Don’t rush it. Don’t be in a hurry for your baby to sleep through the night or to start solids or to sit up or crawl or walk. If I can offer you one bit of advice, it’s to just enjoy the stage your baby is in right.this.moment.

The point she is making is the same point that struck a chord in the book Momma Zen, which I wrote about a few weeks ago. The point is, stay in the moment. Pregnancy and motherhood can be tricky, in that you’re constantly thinking ahead to the next thing: soon I can tell people we’re pregnant, soon the first trimester will be over, soon I’ll feel the baby move, soon I’ll be showing, soon we’ll set up the nursery, soon I’ll be in labor. Plan. Prepare. Look ahead. Best I can tell, motherhood is the same: Soon we’ll have breastfeeding down, soon she’ll sleep through the night, soon she’ll laugh, soon he will crawl. Chart. Compare. Reach the next milestone.

But if you’re living every day thinking about something down the road, what’s happening to your grasp of today? Is it over before you soak in each precious moment?

I’ll never carry this baby again. As much as I look forward to laboring and giving birth and having Red Bean here in person, I don’t want to miss out on the long, slow specialness of having Red Bean tucked inside me. Enjoy the Dear Baby post.

Leave a Reply

