If you wanna sing out, sing out!

One thing I learned working at Capital City Public Charter School is that Cat Stevens is great music for kids. I take it that means prenatally too. 🙂

I’ve also been thinking about the “playlist” I want on hand for our birth. My birth assistant, Claudia, mentioned it when I interviewed her, and she emphasized the wisdom of having a few different lists of varying energy in case you need to change things up. Calming; danceable; singable; energizing; mellow. A few days later I heard this great story on NPR about one woman’s desire to defy the stereotypical Enya birth playlist and heard on her list one of my favorite songs by Somali hip-hop artist K’naan, “Wavin’ Flag”. Her list is a great one.

So, friends, recommendations! What should go on my lists, and in what “category” does your recommendation belong? Help me make Red Bean’s Welcome to the World playlist.

3 responses to “If you wanna sing out, sing out!

  • stagemonkey

    Not so sure for the “squeezin’ out the baby” playlist, but I think “When the Saints Go Marchin’ In” and the Second Line song have to be up-front in the Redbean mix.

  • Carrie

    Helen Reddy, I am Woman and Cher/Raquel Welch duet W-0-M-A-N. (LOL), and the other post made me think of Ernie KDoe Here Come the Girls http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CejaCa6Eewc and oh so many brass band songs….Do you like brass Bands? Soul Rebels, Newbirth, Rebirth, etc. A lot of birth goin on…

  • DragonKat

    The letters in reply to the NPR story I mentioned above were really funny. Star Wars Theme song! “Push” by Salt & Peppa! “Obla-di, Obla-dah” by the Beatles!

Leave a Reply

