Baby blanket

Thanks to a recent Groupon for a yarn shop in Dupont Circle, I’m now well into knitting Red Bean’s first baby blanket. Can you hear my giddy giggle from there? The ladies in Looped Yarn Works on Saturday were awesome and very helpful getting me set up with a free pattern and helping choose fabulous colors for our gender-unknown little cuddler. The sheer delight they showed over knitting for a baby were worth the bucks I shelled out for scrumptious washable merino wool and a new circular needle. I spent a good part of that sweltering Saturday (heat indices over those few days were ranging 114-118, and even at night it was barely dropping out of the 90s!) knitting in front of the air conditioner. It’s a fat yarn, fat needle and a super easy pattern, so it’s working up quickly – a nice treat for me since it’s been so long since I knit anything. Here are some pictures.

Feel free to make a gift card to Looped one of my baby presents.

4 responses to “Baby blanket

  • Nona

    Very nice, my little knittin’ mama! The apple never falls far from the tree~I think you are hooked!!

    • DragonKat

      For sure! But if I recall correctly, I was knitting before you got back into it. Hence all the drives to Pia’s house and learning to knit continental style instead of American style. ๐Ÿ˜‰ All the same, between the two of us, Red Bean will never be cold in the winter! I plan to make a hat out of whatever yarn is left over from this blanket. If you have any chunky yarns in your stash that you’re not planning to use, feel free to send some up and I’ll turn it into blankets! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • April

    Cool! Nice color choices, too.

    • DragonKat

      Thanks, April! The pic does not quite convey the shades but they’re pretty – bright but soft. And the blanket itself is so cushy I want a great big one all my own!

Leave a Reply

