On things you don’t need to throw away

My friend Ann commented to me once, “Isn’t it weird that right next to my daughter’s crib is a big bin full of her feces?”

Yep, that’s weird. ;-)

(Ann, forgive me for using your anecdote!)

So, I discovered (a tad late to the ball, Cinderella) that this week is Real Diaper Week – leading up to the big “Great Diaper Change” event which happens to occur on Earth Day. (Yep, I’m playing.) And so, bloggers who are also cloth diaperers are encouraged to post about diapers. ME! ME! I will do it!

Being a few days behind on this, I’m skipping the suggested daily topics and just kind of rhapsodizing here for a minute or two.

I am really, really glad we chose cloth diapers. I don’t throw away diapers. I don’t have a garbage can of diapers in my house, I have a laundry bag. Every two or three days I wash them and have a fresh new stack of diapers on the shelf. It’s kind of fun. They’re cute. And I have not paid for a single diaper in months. I have not run out or come close to running out. Diapers are not an expense in our house.

Once I got the hang of cloth diapers, I realized, I don’t want to buy wipes either. (Wipes for the diaper bag I consent to). I cut up two flannel receiving blankets into large squares. I wet two when I take Del for a change. (Thanks, Anna, you first suggested this to me and you’re right!) It’s easy. I toss them in the laundry bag with the diapers. Scratch wipes off my shopping list.

TMI alert: stop reading now if you aren’t wearing your big girl panties. I use cloth menstrual pads now too.  Yep, some cloth diaper companies make really nice washable ladypart pads and ya know, when you get used to not buying absorbent plastic throwaway items, it seems pretty normal to just scratch maxi pads off the list too. I keep these separate from the diapers and, easy-peasy, wash those suckers up too.

That’s a lot of things I don’t throw away anymore. That’s cool.

There are a lot of modern marvels I am happy to have. A dishwasher, a clothes dryer, pantyhose I don’t have to clip to a garter belt (my husband would like that though), and pizza delivery. But some of the old things were smarter. In just a couple of generations, we’ve created literal mountains of garbage. Hell-pits of waste that will last longer than our hermetically sealed coffins. And we get to pay through the nose for the “convenience” of using these immortal disposables. Sure there’s much more I could be doing to be green, or to be more economical. But these things are pretty easy for me and frankly, I feel really good about doing it.

Plus, this:

ADORBS/ABSORBS!


5 responses to “On things you don’t need to throw away

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

